June 20, 2024

2010 Proof Silver Eagles to Fly November 19

The United States Mint has announced that the 2010 Proof Silver Eagle will be available for collectors this year. The news comes one month after the official conclusion of the US Mint’s long running rationing program, which had been in place due to high demand for bullion coins.

By law, the US Mint is required to produce American Gold and Silver Eagle bullion coins in quantities sufficient to meet public demand. Following their legal team’s interpretation, in times when bullion demand has exceeded planchet supply, the US Mint has sourced all incoming planchets to the production of bullion coins and foregone the production of collector coins.

This interpretation of their legal responsibilities led to the cancellation of the 2009 Proof Silver Eagle and the lengthy delay and uncertainty surrounding this year’s offering.

The 2010 Proof Silver Eagles will be available for ordering on November 19, with fulfillment of orders beginning on December 1. Pricing has been established at $45.95 per coin. This represents a hefty increase from the last available proof Silver Eagles, which were priced at $31.95 back in 2008. A household ordering limit has been established at 100 units.

The US Mint is not saying just how many coins will be available for collectors, as it will remain contingent on the level of bullion coin demand. If precious metals investors manage to tone it down for a few months, just how many 2010 Proof Silver Eagles will be produced?

A possible clue lies in the US Mint’s original request to Congress when they were attempting to amend the law to allow proof coins to be struck even while bullion demand remained unmet. They had requested authority to use up to 2 million incoming planchets to strike Proof Silver Eagles each year. This would top the highest mintage for a proof issue of the series, currently held by the 1986 Proof Silver Eagle with a final mintage of 1,446,778. The legislation eventually introduced in Congress left the determination up to the Secretary of the Treasury.